TL;DR
Turn quiet afternoons into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Seniors Guide’s report on Texas senior living costs shows that prices differ substantially by care type and location. It lists median non-medical home care at $30 an hour and adult day health care at about $90 a day, while cautioning that local rates and individual needs affect the final bill.
Seniors Guide has published a cost breakdown of senior living options in Texas, reporting statewide figures for services including non-medical home care, private-duty nursing and adult day health care. The report says costs vary with care needs, location and service arrangements, and are generally below U.S. averages in several care categories, particularly nursing home care.
The report puts the statewide median for non-medical in-home care at $30 an hour, with a median daily cost of $189, or about $5,720 a month. It gives different daily averages for two metro areas: $214 in Austin and $116 in McAllen. Home care aides may help with personal hygiene, meals, laundry, mobility and transportation; companion care can provide company and help with basic chores. Visit length, frequency, minimum booking rules and whether services are arranged through an agency can affect the bill.
For private-duty nursing**, Seniors Guide lists a median hourly rate of about $90 and a median monthly cost of $390, equivalent to $4,680 annually. The report notes that nurses generally spend shorter periods with patients than non-medical aides, so the hourly rate alone does not describe total costs. Some people may need both types of support. Adult day health care averages about $90 per day, or $1,950 per month, according to the report, compared with a national median of $95 per day, or $2,058 monthly.
The report also covers residential options but does not give a single statewide price for independent living or active-adult housing. Prices may reflect whether a home is rented or purchased, its size, local market conditions, amenities and recurring fees. Some continuing care or Life Plan communities charge an entrance fee, while independent living is generally private-pay housing rather than a Medicare-certified care setting.
How Care Choices Shape Texas Budgets
The figures show why a statewide average cannot by itself determine what a household will pay. Care type, hours and location can change the cost substantially: the report’s Austin and McAllen home-care figures differ by $98 per day. Even within one region, weekend, holiday and evening care may cost more, and agencies can charge more than direct-hire arrangements while offering screening, backup care and liability protection.
For older adults and families planning a move or arranging support after a health change, comparing the full arrangement matters more than comparing one hourly rate. A plan may combine housing, non-medical help, nursing visits or daytime supervision. The report’s figures offer a starting point, but they do not establish what any particular person will pay or what services will be appropriate.
Affordability also depends on the terms attached to a residential option. A rental, purchased home or community with entrance and recurring fees can create very different expenses. Families comparing options should identify which services are included, which are billed separately and how charges may change if care needs increase.
Products Worth Considering

Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max Smart Air Purifier for Large Rooms

Fitbit Sense Advanced Smartwatch – Sage Grey/Silver (One Size, S & L Bands Included)

Therabody SleepMask Blackout Eye Mask with Vibration
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Report’s Care Options
Seniors Guide frames its breakdown around the decisions families often face after retirement or a major health event: what level of support is available and what it costs. It describes aging in place, residential communities and short-term support rather than treating senior living as a single type of housing. Local housing, labor and service costs are identified as factors behind differences across Texas.
For aging in place, non-medical aides and companion-care providers offer household and daily-living assistance, while trained home health professionals provide skilled services, including monitoring vital signs and helping with medical equipment. Adult day centers offer daytime supervision and social activities, usually on weekdays; some provide health or therapeutic services. These services differ in purpose and staffing, so their prices are not directly interchangeable.
For residential living, active-adult communities may offer accessible, low-maintenance homes and activities, while independent living communities serve people who remain largely independent and may allow in-home care. The report says costs for these settings depend on the housing market, dwelling size, amenities and fees. It describes Texas senior living as generally less expensive than the national average, particularly for nursing home care, but the supplied material does not include the underlying nursing-home price or the data year.
““The median hourly cost statewide is $30.””
— Seniors Guide
Limits of the Published Cost Figures
The supplied report material does not state when the underlying prices were collected or provide a complete methodology, so readers cannot tell how current the figures are or how the medians were calculated. It also gives no single statewide average for independent living or active-adult housing, whose prices are tied to property and community-specific charges.
Several costs depend on details the report does not quantify, including the number and length of visits, minimum scheduling requirements, weekend or holiday rates, and the level of medical supervision at day centers. It says Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs, but the material does not specify eligibility, coverage limits or whether a particular service qualifies. The report’s broad comparison with national costs is also not accompanied here by a year or detailed state-by-state figures.
What Families Should Check Next
The report does not announce a forthcoming policy change or new official pricing schedule. For households using its estimates, the next step is to request current, itemized quotes from providers and communities in the relevant Texas area. Families can ask which services are included, whether rates change by time or day, what minimum visit lengths apply, and how fees could change if more support is needed.
People considering coverage should check directly with Medicaid, an insurer or a long-term care policy administrator about eligibility and covered services. Because the report does not specify its data date, readers should treat its numbers as reference points rather than guaranteed current prices and confirm rates before making a care or housing decision.
Key Questions
What does non-medical home care cost in Texas?
Seniors Guide reports a statewide median of $30 per hour, with a median daily cost of $189, or about $5,720 per month. Actual charges vary by location, schedule, service and provider.
How do home-care costs differ between Austin and McAllen?
The report lists average daily non-medical home-care costs of $214 in the Austin metro area and $116 in metropolitan McAllen. These are regional figures, not guaranteed quotes for an individual household.
How much is adult day health care in Texas?
The report gives an average of about $90 per day, or $1,950 per month, compared with a national median of $95 per day. Prices vary with location, schedule, program and medical supervision.
Does the report give one price for independent living?
No. Seniors Guide says independent living is generally private-pay housing and that costs depend on factors such as location, dwelling type, amenities and fees. The supplied material does not provide a single statewide average.
Can Medicaid or insurance help pay for senior care?
The report says Medicaid and long-term care insurance may cover some medical care costs, but does not specify which services qualify or the conditions for coverage. Families should confirm details with the relevant program or policy administrator.
Source: seniorsguide.com
